Injury Compensation Lawyer

Injury Claim Law Firm

Personal Injury Lawyer
The Law Offices of John Morelli is a New Jersey Personal Injury Law Firm. We represent individuals who are injured in automobile accidents or workplace accidents; or injured by equipment or machinery; or through the negligent maintenance of property. Read More >

New Jersey Auto Accident Injury Claims
New Jersey is a "No-Fault" state. This puts the burden on an injured person to produce medical evidence from a doctor that they have suffered an injury that is permanent in nature. Read More >

Slip Fall Injury Unsafe Conditions
Dangerous conditions for slip/falls can exist in not just crumbling curbs and steps and on snowy surfaces, but in nearly any business establishment if they are not properly maintained. Read More >

Injury Medical Exam
Remember that this is an exam for the purpose of stating that you are not injured, or that if you have a condition that it is not related to your accident. If this doctor is friendly, beware. Read More >

Manufacturers of products or machinery are held responsible for any damage caused by the products that they sell and place into the stream of commerce. Read More >

If you are injured in a car accident and only have the minimum coverage under a standard insurance policy for underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage, regardless of how seriously you were injured, you will be limited to a $15,000 recovery. Read More >

South Jersey Personal Injury Law Firm
    A Guide to Personal Injury Protection Benefits
Mr. Morelli is an experienced trial attorney who has been actively appearing before juries since he was admitted to the bar in 1981.Read More >
...Continue Reading
Latest From John Morelli's Legal Blog

Injury Law Firm
Personal Injury Legal Representation

        New Jersey is a no fault state. That means that if you are involved in an automobile accident, your own automobile insurance company will pay for your medical bills. If you did not own an automobile on the day of the accident, you would first look to the policies of anyone with whom you reside and who you are related to by blood or marriage. This is called being a "resident relative." If you live with anyone that you are related to, and they own an automobile, then you may have coverage for your medical bills through that insurance policy. Lastly, if you do not own an automobile and you do not live with anyone that has automobile insurance, you may be eligible through the policy of the person whose car you were in at the time of the accident.

Personal Injury Protection Benefits

Personal Injury Protection provides coverage under a standard policy of up to $250,000.00. This coverage, however, can be limited by the choices you make when you purchase the insurance policy. Typically, companies that advertise heavily on television, such as GEICO and Progressive, will reduce your automobile insurance premiums by giving you much less in coverage. For example, GEICO often provides only $10,000.00 in medical benefits. This is grossly inadequate in most cases. In addition, New Jersey law mandates that there by a deductible, and a co-payment amount. The standard deductible and co-payment amounts are a $250.00 deductible and a 20% co-payment up to $5000.00.

Deductibles and Co-Payments

This means that you can be responsible for up to $1,200.00 in deductibles and co-payments even if you have $250,000.00 in coverage. Your deductible amounts can also be increased when you select your Personal Injury Protection benefits. Once again, GEICO and those kind of companies will tell you that you can save money by picking a much higher deductible, such as $2,500.00 or even $5,000.00. Imagine a simple trip to the emergency room because of an automobile accident that was not your fault. If you select a $5,000.00 deductible, you would be responsible for that initial $5,000.00, plus a possible co-payment on additional amounts.

The Types of Policies You Should Choose

Personal Injury Protection is not expensive in New Jersey when compared to the benefits that you receive. When you purchase your automobile insurance, it is strongly recommended that you select the lowest deductible that is allowed by law, which is $250.00.

Getting Medical Care for an Accident Injury

Finally, it is important to keep in mind that all medical care is subject to "pre-certification" in New Jersey. This means that the insurance company must approve medical testing, such as an MRI or any other procedure. Your treating physician must submit a request for pre-certification to the insurance company and that insurance company has an obligation to respond within a very short period of time, normally 72 hours. If the insurance company denies the request, then your doctor may apply for re-consideration or file an appeal. If the appeal is denied then your case is eligible to proceed to mandatory arbitration. If you have been denied treatment, it is strongly recommended that you seek the services of an attorney to assist you with the claim.

Dig Deeper: The Criminal Ramifications of Auto Accidents
                  After an Accident, Why Can It Take a Few Days for Injuries to 'Set In'?
                  A Family Member Has Been Injured in an Accident
                  How New Jersey's Auto-Claim Laws Differ From Other States
                  The Delicate Nature of Spinal Cord Injuries

Personal Injury Attorney Maple Shade New Jersey10 Things You Should Know Before Filing an Injury Claim
Being hurt can be a frustrating experience. But, it’s good to remember that there is an outlet built into the legal system for people like you. All potential clients should be aware of the following information before they go to file their claim. Read on>
Length of a Personal Injury SettlementHow Long Will it Take to Settle my Personal Injury Claim?
The length of time it takes for an injured person to settle their claim can vary greatly depending on the circumstances. But, there is a point at which all cases should wait until reaching a settlement. Read on>
Length of a Personal Injury SettlementContingency Fees For Personal Injury Lawyers Explained
There are several different ways in which attorneys bill their clients, but New Jersey law stipulates that personal injury lawyers may handle cases on a contingency fee basis. An attorney can assist an injured victim, regardless of their economic circumstances. Read on>
Length of a Personal Injury SettlementTop 5 Arguments Defense Lawyers Use in Injury Cases
Defense lawyers for injury cases have certain arguments they commonly use against plaintiffs. Before you file your case, it’s important to know what they will most likely say to avoid having their clients be found liable for your injury. Read on>
Length of a Personal Injury SettlementWho Will Pay For my Medical Treatment During My Case?
You will likely still be receiving treatment while your case is ongoing. Prior to having the other party found as being “at-fault” for your injuries, hospitals and doctors nonetheless are going to want to get paid. How exactly do you get your treatment paid for? Read on>
Length of a Personal Injury SettlementA Guide to New Jersey Personal Injury Protection Benefits
New Jersey is a no fault state. That means that if you are involved in an automobile accident, your own automobile insurance company will pay for your medical bills. Personal Injury Protection Benefits allow victims to make a claim for injuries. Read on>

Serving these areas and all of South Jersey
Atlantic City
Burlington Township
Cedar Brook
Cherry Hill
Franklin Township
Gloucester City
Gloucester Township
Haddon Heights
Haddon Township
Harrison Township
Laurel Springs
Mantua Township
Maple Shade
Monroe Township
Mount Ephraim
Mount Holly
Mount Laurel
Pine Hill
Pine Valley
Washington Township
West Berlin
Camden County
Atlantic County
Burlington County
Gloucester County

Please call 856-616-1300 to Contact Us Today                                                   Site MapPrivacy PolicyContactDirections

© The Law Offices of John Morelli